Contemporary Artists/Designers Inspiration:

21 Jan

I love reading what inspires other designers….from art, films, music, vintage pieces, period costumes, cafes in Paris….to the slightly more obscure….

Here’s just a couple of the ones I find truly inspirational:

Rachel Freire: ”an artist in wolf’s clothing”

”Clothing is our expression of self, our bodies are the one thing we control exclusively. Clothing should amplify a person, not create one. I am bored of androgeny, I think we need the equal and opposite: intensify the masculine and the feminine, all at once. I love the beauty of the past, we all draw on if for our inspiration and should give credit where it’s due.. I daydream visions of a future not yet set, and revel in the militaristic classic lines built to last and serve a purpose.

Most of our lives these days is a fantasy world, hiding from one reality or another. So why not dress for the party?

Balladof.co.uk : Interview with Hannah and Landan (http://hannahandlandon.blogspot.com/):

For full interview click link below:

http://balladof.co.uk/2010/10/ballad-loves-hannah-metz-her-vintage-pants/

M: What’s your favourite source of inspiration and ideas?
H: Movies and pre-20th century European art! I’m a bit mad for period films and even madder for screen capturing and saving them in an ever expanding folder on my computer of inspiring period costumes! I love the fabrics and the textures and colours and volume and accessorizing and HAIR, oh gosh. I love it all! If I was gifted in the theatrical arts I would definitely have run away to pursue a career on the masterpiece theater productions!’

Leave a Reply

